Thomaston Savings Bank App Icon

Thomaston Savings Bank App

Available on the Google Play Store

Branches Call

Connecticut Bankers Association Names President & CEO Stephen Lewis as 2018-2019 Chairman


The members of the Connecticut Bankers Association (CBA) recently elected the officers for the 2018-2019 term, which ends in September of 2019. Among the elected officers was Thomaston Savings Bank’s very own President and CEO, Stephen Lewis, who was named Chairman of the Association.

“I am honored to be elected,” said Stephen in response to the news. “I look forward to working with all of our members and the CBA staff over the next year.”

Stephen Lewis has been with Thomaston Savings Bank since 2006. He graduated from Villanova University with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and graduated with a Masters of Business Administration from the University of Connecticut. He has been an active board member over the years in many organizations.

The CBA represents state and federally-chartered commercial banks, savings and loans, savings banks and trust companies in legislative, regulatory and general banking issues across Connecticut and Washington.

This honor comes on the heels of the Bank’s recent recognition as the most highly-rated community bank in the United States by Forbes, and it only adds to the excitement for the coming year.

The other elected officers include:

First Vice Chairman

Cynthia C. Merkle

President & CEO, Union Savings Bank, Danbury

Second Vice Chairman

Michael J. LaBella

Market President, Connecticut, TD Bank, N.A., Wilton

Past Chairman

Michael J. Casparino

Market President, Northern CT, People’s United Bank, Hartford

President & CEO

Lindsey R. Pinkham

President & CEO, Connecticut Bankers Association

In addition to the above listed officers, the Executive Committee consists of nine at-large members:

Daniel L. Berta

President, Fairfield County Bank

Steven T. Cornell

President, National Iron Bank, Salisbury

Frank J. Gaudio

President & CEO, First Bank of Greenwich

Timothy P. Geelan

President & CEO, Guilford Savings Bank

Robert J. Granata

President & COO, First County Bank, Stamford

Jeff L. Hubbard

New England Regional President, KeyBank, New Haven

John E. Janco

President & CEO, Torrington Savings Bank

Susan L. Shields

President & CEO, The Milford Bank

Thomas J. Villanova

President & CEO, Litchfield Bancorp

Re-appointed to the professional staff headquartered in Farmington:

Thomas S. Mongellow

Executive Vice President & Treasurer

Colleen E. Clancy

First Senior Vice President & Secretary